THE CHRONICLES OF THE ELECT

Priestly Functions: Issue #3

leave a comment »

high_priestI would like to perhaps now address the third issue I’ve been having with my church. I don’t want to seem negative and an opposer of the gathering. Remember, this is primarily a personal blog hence I could be wrong! This is merely my expression to which I feel might benefit some. You’ll notice with all these issues coming up that I’ve not left the gathering. I don’t believe that leaving should be something that is taken lightly at all and reasons for an exodus should be grave enough that one cannot continue. I don’t feel that the climax has come where I would exit and there are some great reasons to stay as well. Perhaps to balance the materials I have posted thus far, I will offer a positive side of the fellowship as well.

The third issue stands as a means of governing an issue that came up about 1 1/2 years ago or so. I don’t want to be too critical here because for the most part I believe it was dealt with very well. Let me give a general background in order to offer some context. We were informed awhile back that a situation had arisen between a member of the church and someone who frequents our gathering with their parents. We were informed in a meeting that the member of our church was being investigated by the police and that he and the other individual were involved.  This gentleman has a very “public” employment hence the newspapers could be involved as well. The leadership in our gathering took the time to investigate the situation yet they found no evidence or grounds to make a formal accusation and to discipline this individual. The accusing party however went to the police which began a saga in our church to say the least. Now, the leadership, I feel, did the right thing in that they couldn’t discipline or stop him from his priestly functions in the gathering. The issue I had, which I suppose might be minor to many, is that when the police were involved that he should have been limited in his ability to function as a priest. This would mean no public speaking, no public prayer and no participation in bible studies or any other functions. Why you may ask? Well, think of the other party in our gathering and their parents? The accusations were quite bold! I think also of the priests in Leviticus 13 where they were told by Yahweh to take one who has leprosy outside. Not only was he to be taken out if they knew he had leprosy but even if they suspected he had leprosy. (Lev. 13:1-6) The sad part is that this man is a very proud man and hence he continued even more boldly than usual. The truth is I can’t say whether he is guilty or not since I really dont know but he should have humbled himself and also, I believe, should have been humbled. It is my understanding that the leadership did make an attempt to quiet him but it didn’t work overly well. I suppose that perhaps they should have been more firm but I can’t expect them to rule with a metal rod.

As you can see, the issue doesn’t really become a problem for me regarding the means by which were taken to deal with the situation as best as we could but I feel that he should have been silenced and his priestly privileges put on hold until the situation is dealt with. These are situations that can have grave results to a church and often splits occur however I have to say that I am happy to see that there is still much unity within the gathering even though it is our natural tendency to pick sides.

Written by shawnkjmcgrath

July 5, 2009 at 1:52 pm

Posted in Church Issues

Leave a Reply

