THE CHRONICLES OF THE ELECT

And the saga continues…

leave a comment »

Martin-Luther-1526-1The Church I attend has gone ahead with the move to the new place of gathering. I had expressed my orignial views on this move in an earlier post that can be found here. I have not attended these meetings since the move last week. I know through emails that many are saddened by my current conviction although many are in agreement with my stance. There is no question that many are seeing this as a blatant act of rebellion against the decision of the gathering and the responsible men. As I had mentionned previously, my intentions were never to go against any decisions of the gathering but to be honest with myself and my conscience. I thougth today about Martin Luther’s words during his trial at the diet of worms when they desired him to recant from his teachings and convictions.  He stated: my conscience is captive to the Word of God. I cannot and will not recant anything, for to go against conscience is neither right nor safe. Here I stand, I cannot do otherwise. God help me. Amen.” These are very similar words penned by Luke when it was said “I also do my best to maintain always a blameless conscience both before God and before men. (Acts 24:16) I just don’t feel I can keep such a good conscience by associating myself, whether directly or indirectly, with this organization.

Am I being too extremist in my disassociation with these religions? Should I see this meeting place as simply a building? I probably would see it as such should it not have the name of the organization directly fixed on the front of it. It has been expressed how much I am needed at the gathering  and I have been appreciative of all the concerns that have been expressed. I continue to seek the will of the Lord through His holy word.

Written by shawnkjmcgrath

September 12, 2009 at 8:22 pm

Posted in Church Issues

Leave a Reply

